love what you do, and do what you love

15780996_717133511784732_3064813984127960738_n

I realize I’m 12 days late with this post, but hey, it’s still January, right? Right. Moving on….

2016 was one heck of a year.  Not necessarily all good either. School was rough, my health got worse, and my stress went through the roof as a result of those things. School got even worse, to the point where I missed passing a class by 9 points.

9 points.

 

Of course, as I posted yesterday, I decided that nursing, and nursing school, were not for me, and not what I was meant to do. I dropped my classes today, and I feel like an enormous weight has been lifted. I’m a bit wary, because this is new – the past 4 years has been nursing school for me (or the prerequisites for nursing school), and now it’s not. I’m at peace with it though. I feel good about my decision, and I know it was the right choice to make.

12195755_762434697217129_3791305754101887683_n

I’m thankful that I had the opportunity to even try nursing school. Had I not tried, I would never know, and nursing school allowed me the opportunity to realize who I am. I made wonderful friends, I discovered that I am a strong person, even when I don’t want to be. I also discovered that my skills are best used elsewhere haha.

2016 brought on the plans for a trip to Germany. They are well underway, and we have made so much progress in our planning and saving and preparing. I cannot wait to travel with my amazing, selfless husband. I’m still in awe that he planned such a trip because he knew I have always wanted to go to Germany. We’ve been learning German together, researching areas we’re visiting to find things to do, and planning our days in certain cities. It has been a wonderful time.

I have some plans for 2017, and I know I will achieve them. I received a Happy Planner (mini) for Christmas from my wonderful Mom, and I decided that I’d use it, not for school, but for other activities. Sure, that means (meant) two planners, but it means that things are easier to see. I plan on working out, and I set it up so I start low and build. I don’t want to overwhelm myself, like I have in the past, and give up because it’s too difficult for me to achieve. As the months go on, I plan to add “weights” to my cardio – in this case, weights is not lifting weights necessarily, but things like lunges, squats, planks, kettlebell swings, and so on. I also plan to add a day or two of yoga as time progresses to work on my flexibility, and help me get some more intense stretching in. Plus, back pain. haha. This spring/summer/fall I plan to ride my bike with Kalen more often, something we will both enjoy. The end game is to be in better shape, and healthier of course, for when we go to Germany. Some cities offer the option to rent bicycles and “tour” the city, and we’d like to do that, in addition to the walking we’ll be doing of course!

I also plan to make and list more jewelry, cowls, and other items to my Etsy shop. I did really well at Christmas selling my  Stethoscope Heart Necklace to the point where I ran out temporarily! I sold a few cowls that were made to order, which was exciting, and the buyer LOVED them, which was even MORE exciting!

Me, showing two examples of how it can be worn, and then 1 of the 4 I made for her. 

Another goal, as of now, is to get into the school that offers the program I feel is the best fit for me, and find a job! I’d also like to go through and really purge. Kalen and I have accumulated a mass amount of stuff we don’t need or use, and it’s just taking up space and creating clutter. I’d like to go through and donate a large amount of clothing, reorganize our book collection, reorganize our games and our office closet, sell what items I can (such as care plan books I will no longer need), and just clean the house. Dust, vacuum, toss, put away – it needs to be done!

I also want Kalen and I to go to church services regularly. I used to go weekly, but then the service time changes, and it was less often. As time went on, particularly with the addition of both of us in school, our attendance dwindled to nothing. Now, the last time I was there was sometime in May. I want to work on my relationship with God, and make it stronger. I’d also like to curb my swearing, my doubting, and my general attitude. I want to be a more Godly and kind person. Lofty goals, but I know I can do it.

12208682_174946932850768_5353355190527700536_n

So, there is my more detailed update of my life, and what is going on. I know it’s not the most exciting, but it’s mine, and I love it and I’m thankful for it, and for those who are in it.

blog siggy

Leave a Reply

