New Year, New Me, & All That Jazz

Recently, I’ve gained weight. A lot of weight, actually. My diet hasn’t changed (although it needs to), and I haven’t worked out (again, I need to). What changed was that I finally got my blood sugar under control, and as a result, I gained almost 30 pounds from the beginning of October to now.

Do.Not.Want.

As a result of that horrifying wake up call, I have decided that I’m going to go with the cliche phrase, and get my act together. I have started tracking my food again using MyFitnessPal (add me!), and I plan on working out. While I’m thrilled that my sugars are normal after being a Type II diabetic since 2008, I’m not thrilled about the weight gain, or that my clothing no longer fits. I’m not thrilled that in order to wear knee high boots, I had to go up a size, and even those are tight. I’m not thrilled that my jeans are all tight and cut into my stomach, and I’m not thrilled that I’m so fat that sitting in certain desks on campus are uncomfortable.

I don’t want to lose weight for vanity’s sake. I want to lose weight for my health. I need to lose weight for my health.

So, I’m tracking, and I’ll be working out. I’ve set my calories to 1800 a day. When I met with my nutritionist, she suggested 2200 a day, and I actually laughed. When I’m eating healthy foods, that number is impossible. Now, I can hit that easily if I eat crap, but then I’m left feeling hungry. With healthy choices, I’m not left starving.

So, what did I eat today? I know you’re waiting with bated breath to find out!

Breakfast: 1 cup of dry oats, cooked in water. Mixed in, 1 teaspoon of brown sugar, 1 teaspoon of unsalted butter, and 1 tablespoon of pure maple syrup. 401 calories.

Lunch: half a cup of lowfat cottage cheese, half a cup of grape tomatoes, 2 slices of oven roasted turkey, half of a multigrain sandwich thin from Brownberry, half of a tomato slice (1/4″ thick), 1 leaf of iceberg lettuce, and half of a slice of Sargento Ultra Thin Longhorn Colby. 226 calories.

Snack: 1 cup of green grapes. 104 calories.

Drinks: 2 cups of cranberry autumn tea with 6 packets of Splenda total. 24 calories.

Dinner: half a cup of beef flavored rice mix, half a cup of green beans with 1/3 tablespoon of Brummel and Brown, 1 cup of skim milk, a 4.15oz pork loin chop with Shake ‘n Bake. 479 calories.

Snack: 4 pieces of Dove dark chocolate (a stocking stuffer). 168 calories.

My total intake for the day was 1402 calories, so I’m under my goal by 398 calories. My lunch WOULD have been more, but I made it last night, and stupidly put the tomato slice on the sandwich ahead of time, so it was really soggy and gross. I ate half before I couldn’t stomach it any longer, and tossed it. As for breakfast, when I’m eating oatmeal, I find that a half cup of dry oats doesn’t satisfy. And as to the butter, I can’t explain it other than my Gma used to add a pat of it to my Cream of Wheat, and I think that’s why I do it. Either way, it’s tasty and fills me up. Next time, I’ll top it with some cinnamon I think.

Tomorrow will be a different breakfast (2 slices of sourdough bread from Healthy Life, 1 tablespoon of Brummel and Brown, 2 extra large eggs cooked in 1 teaspoon of coconut oil, although I might switch it out, and ditch the B&B for some mashed up avocado – we’ll see how lazy I am). Lunch will be similar – sandwich thin with mustard, roasted chicken, 1 slice of the colby, a tomato slice (kept separate this time!), and some alfalfa sprouts, plus 2oz of extra sharp cheddar cheese and 3/4 cup of lowfat cottage cheese). My snack will be 1 cup of green grapes. Those put me at 1025 for the day. I’ll have 775 calories left for my dinner, and I’m hoping to feel better, and get a workout in before I head into work. I’m probably going to opt for my favorite – kettlebell swings!

With the stress of the upcoming semester already settling in (yay, nursing school!), I need to stay on top of my health. Last semester was terrible, health-wise, and I missed a lot of school and work. I don’t want to repeat that.

Also, I took some before pictures, measurements, and of course my weight (the pictures and measurements were done this evening, and the weight done the morning of January 1st). I am debating if I should make a separate post and include them or not. I’m in quite a few Facebook accountability groups, so that’s been a help to keep me on track too.

Anyway, this isn’t my only 2016 goal, but it’s a big one! I’ll post more of them, but I wanted to focus on this first, because quite frankly, I’m excited about it. 🙂

 

How is 2016 treating you!?

 

 

 

One thought on “New Year, New Me, & All That Jazz

Leave a Reply

