Hitting the Books

tumblr_nc68pmj3oi1qe079ho1_500Hermione is my spirit animal you guys. I get her drive and determination – it’s the same kind I have (except her school is much more interesting and cooler than mine – I’d rather be studying magic than nursing any day!). I saw this picture, probably on Tumblr but I don’t remember, and immediately said “That’s me.” Because right now, this is my life. One 8 week class ended (last week), and another started (this week). The other 2 classes are halfway through already, and I’m so over school and ready to graduate and just be done with all of this.

I’m still super irritated that I’ll have put in 6 years for a 4 year degree (the fault of the school, not me – I’ve been taking 4-5 classes per semester, and the least amount of credit hours will be next semester, at 13), but the school I’m in now has a 4 year program, so even though all the prerequisites have been completed, it will still take me 4 years to complete, which is not only irritating, but frustrating. If I had known this when I began this journey, I would have started here, and I’d have two years to go, not 4 (well, 3.5 now). It’s just so depressing knowing that a. had I stayed in school right out of high school I’d be a doctor right now and b. I’m going to be 30 next year and I’m still in school and have so much more to go before I finish my degree, and c. once I do graduate, I’ll have to take the NCLEX and then find a job before Kalen and I can begin to try for a baby. I always thought I’d have a larger family (think at least 5 kids) but now I’m starting to think I’ll be lucky to have 1 or 2, and that’s assuming we’re able to get pregnant.

I am feeling really unprepared for the Snowfest, which is November 8th. I haven’t had much of a chance to work on anything, because last week I had 2 midterms (I got a 92% and an 86% on them, not having studied adequately) and a final (90%, again without studying adequately). The midterm for the class that is now over was a 98%, and I studied. Clearly studying pays off, and I am trying to stay on top of things so that when the midterm comes in 4 weeks for the 8 week class, I’ll be prepared, and in 8 weeks when I have 3 finals, I’ll do better. I still have A’s in all of the classes, but I want to do as best as I’m able, and I need to put forth the appropriate amount of effort in order to do so. Even though these classes are easy (albeit boring), I don’t want to fall into the slacker mode and then have to fight to get out of that mode when I have harder classes later on.

Speaking of, I have registered for the spring semester!! I’m waiting on my advisor to let me know if I got into the nursing classes I requested (the dates and times, not the classes themselves). So, what I’m able to register for (anything non-nursing), I did. I’ll be taking 2 online classes (I only need 1 of them for a humanities credit, but I need full time hours): Intro to Literature (English is my favorite subject) and American History to 1877. I’ll be on campus to take Spanish Level 1. In high school I took up to Honors German 9-10 (each semester was the equivalent of 1 year). German, of course, is not as useful in the United States as Spanish. I know many people feel that we shouldn’t have to learn Spanish and that if you’re living here, you should speak English. That’s wonderful, but I don’t see the harm in learning the language, at least the basics, and utilizing that skill while working as a nurse. Not only will it be helpful to speak their language (and perhaps they DO know English, but in the wake of a stressful situation, they might revert to Spanish), but it will make me more marketable as a nurse. I see so many job postings requiring Spanish. I love languages, and I’m excited at the thought of learning a third. I’m hoping to be able to take up to level 3 or 4, or higher, if I’m able.

I’m spending time catching up on the variety of TV shows that I watch that Kalen doesn’t (Awkward, Faking It, 19 Kids and Counting, Yukon Men, Criminal Minds, Law and Order: SVU, NCIS, Reign, Nashville, The Originals, The Vampire Diaries, Witches of Eastend, that I can think of). I like to watch while I take notes (not while I study though – for that I utilize SoundDrown). I’ve been spending far too much time on Tumblr recently too, looking at study inspiration. It’s been helpful though (SoundDrown was discovered there, for instance), so I just try to limit my time spent there.

Last week I went to Barnes & Noble and spent about 5 hours in the cafe, studying for the exams and making up vocabulary flash cards (a surprisingly time-consuming task). My friend met me up there for a bit, and we chatted, and then she left to run some errands. I would have stayed longer, but it was getting more crowded, and I hadn’t eaten since that morning, and it was already after 2, so I headed home. I’ve also been having a lot of stomach pain recently, which has sucked. It started that night, and I had to reschedule Friday’s tests for this Monday because I was so sick I couldn’t make it. I’m glad my professor allowed me to do that, or I’d have been screwed. It’s been hurting since then, off and on. Fantastic.

Saturday was fun though. Kalen and I went to Gone Girl with my Mom, sister, and friend. It was really good, and I thought it followed the book fairly well. We also got dinner before that, and I scarfed on some movie popcorn (because it is the best!). Sunday was spent doing homework, napping, and watching the Packers win (and the Bears lose!). Sunday and Monday I didn’t eat dinner – my stomach was just bothering me too much, so I slept. It’s still like that, but I can’t keep sleeping that much. Plus, it means less time to focus on school, and most importantly, less time with my husband! I was sleeping when he was home, and not seeing him, and I don’t like that. I already see so little of him.

Anyway, this is already pretty long, so I’m going to end this massive post. This weekend is the Halloween party, so hopefully next week I’ll have some pictures to share (assuming I remember my camera). Have a wonderful weekend!!!

blog siggy

Leave a Reply

