Hard Times & Keeping Our Faith

381648_304643182913152_204929142884557_907037_1714961839_n

Recently, I’ve been reading through the book of Job. Poor Job, who was basically tormented so God could prove he was faithful.

How many of us can say that we’d have remained as faithful as Job in that situation? If our livelihood and families were decimated, would we still remain faithful to the Lord?

I’d like to say that I would, but until I’ve been put in that situation (and I pray I never am!), how can I know for sure? How can I know that I won’t turn my back on my Heavenly Father?

I can’t, because only the Lord knows how faithful I’ll remain, and only he can help me keep my faith.

There are so many verses in Job that are just so…inspirational, and I’m only thirteen chapters in! I’m doing a nice and slow reading plan for the year, which is going at a much happier pace than the ninety-day plan I did two years ago. It’s been incredibly refreshing to read Job. When I was fourteen and my father passed away, it was hard for me to accept that this was God’s will. I had a hard time wrapping my head around the fact that he took my father from me, but murderers were still living. It wasn’t easy, but I realized that it wasn’t done to spite me. It was just his time. I don’t know how I’d have turned out if my Dad had lived. I’m almost twenty-nine now, and for the most part, I like how I am. I have areas to work on, but don’t we all? But, if my Dad were here, would I like more areas, or less? Would I be totally different?

So, I thought I’d share a few of the verses that I wrote down in the notebook where I’m keeping track of the verses that “speak to me.” It’s been refreshing, to do that, to read daily, and to write my prayers down daily. If you find you are having problems praying, try journaling your prayers. It’s been wonderful for me.

“He does great things too marvelous to understand. He performs countless miracles.” -Job 5:9

“But consider the joy of those corrected by God! Do not despise the discipline of the Almighty when you sin.” -Job 5:17

“At least I can take comfort in this: Despite the pain, I have no denied the words of the Holy One.” -Job 6:10

“But if you pray to God and seek the favor of the Almighty, and if you are pure and live with integrity, he will surely rise up and restore your happy home.” -Job 8:5-6

“Should I remain silent while you babble on? When you mock God, shouldn’t someone make you ashamed?” -Job 11:3

“If only you would prepare your heart and lift up your hands to him in prayer! Get rid of your sins, and leave all iniquity behind you. Then your face will brighten with innocence. You will be strong and free of fear.” -Job 11:13-15

Are there any verses from Job that inspire you? I have plenty more written down, but I didn’t want to post them all. I hope this was encouraging for some of you.

blog siggy

Leave a Reply

