White Castle Makes Me Happy

Who here has had the pleasure of eating from White Castle? I mean the actual restaurant, NOT the frozen crap you can buy, by the way. If you haven’t, I feel for you. While they’re not healthy, they are quite delicious. Also, their chicken rings, cheese sticks, and fries are delicious as well.

But today I’m here to talk about the burgers. With cheese. It’s the only way for me, but they are good without cheese, if you choose that way. But cheese…why would you not want it!?

So in my “I need some new recipes because even though I have a billion I haven’t tried yet, I need more” spree, I came across one that immediately piqued my interest. I made it last night and holy moly was it phenomenal. And easy, which is a huge favorite recipe quality of mine. So, here it is!

White Castle Casserole
Ingredients

  • 2lbs ground beef
  • 2 tubes (12oz each) of crescent rolls
  • 8-10 slices of American cheese
  • Mustard, to taste (I didn’t add this)
  • Dill pickles, chopped (or sliced) to taste (I didn’t add this either)

Instructions

  1.   Preheat the oven to 350* F, and spray a 9×13 pan with cooking spray.
  2. In a skillet, brown the ground beef with the packages of onion soup mix. Drain the meat, and use a paper towel to get rid of as much of the grease as possible (I used 90/10 ground beef and didn’t drain it, and it was just fine. If you use a fattier meat, I wouldn’t skip this step).
  3. Unroll one of the tubes and place it over the bottom of the dish, pressing the seams closed. Top with the beef, and then the cheese slices. This is where you would drizzle on the mustard and top with the pickles (if you’re using either), or other condiments you might want, such as ketchup. Top with the other tube of crescent rolls (mine wasn’t perfect, and it was just fine). Try to get it as spread out as possible, and press the seams together.
  4. Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until the top is golden brown and the cheese has melted (I did mine for 20 minutes).

This is made to serve 8. Because we’d never made this before, I cut the recipe in half. This was so so so good. Like, really good. I dreamed about it. I want more of it. It was easy, taste, and not as bad for you as the actual White Castle is. I think this would taste fine with ground turkey too. We were all pretty hungry, so even though the plan was to serve this with a salad, that didn’t happen. Kalen also mentioned that he’d have liked some sort of a side with it. Some homemade french fries would be tasty with it, since this is White Castle after all.

 

I really need to save the website I get recipes from. I just copy and paste into Word to save ink, since most blogs have 8,000 pictures of every process of the cooking of the dish. Ah well.

 

xoxo Amber

Leave a Reply

