When life hands you lemons…COOK!

fruitquotes 2

So tonight’s dinner was AMAZING. And contained lemons. Lots of lemons. I love lemons, don’t you?

Crockpot Lemon Chicken
Ingredients
*2 onions, cut into eighths
*3 cloves of garlic, peeled
*8 pieces of skinless chicken (I used boneless, skinless breasts; next time I’m going to use thighs. I like thighs best.)
*salt & pepper (and next time I’m going to sprinkle garlic salt over the chicken as well, because I love garlic.)
*1/4 cup Dijon mustard
*1/2 cup lemon juice (about 4 lemons, if using fresh.)
*1/2 cup of chicken broth
*4 sprigs of tarragon, or 1 tsp of dried tarragon (true story: we don’t have tarragon because the MIL doesn’t like it, so we substituted fennel, which she also doesn’t like, but oh well.)
*1/3 cup heavy cream

Instructions
1. Add the sliced onions to the bottom of the Crockpot (I sprayed nonstick spray before laying them down, but if you do or don’t is your choice.)
2. Add the garlic on top of the onions (next time I will be chopping the garlic; the original recipe doesn’t call for it.)
3. Add the chicken (mine was frozen, and it was just fine.)
4. Sprinkle with the salt and pepper (and garlic salt, if you choose to use it.)
5. Spread the Dijon mustard over the chicken (side note: I did not measure, just squirted some on the chicken and smoothed it out.)
6. Add the chicken broth.
7. Squeeze (or pour, if not using fresh) the lemon juice over the chicken.
8. Sprinkle with the tarragon (or other spice), or add the leaves.
9. Cover and cook on high for 4-6 hours (I did mine on high for 4 hours, and it was set to keep warm for maybe 2 hours after that), or low for 8-10 hours.
10. When done, remove the chicken (and tarragon leaves if you used them) and add in the heavy cream, mixing well, and then add the chicken back into the Crockpot.

Gotta say, this was lemony. And delicious. And, since we’re a family of three and there were 8 chicken breasts, we had 5 leftover. Guess what we’re having again on Wednesday!? lol.

This came from this blog but I don’t know the exact link for it, as I printed it out. I’m sure a search on her blog would turn up something though. If you happen to find it (I’m far too lazy to actually look), let me know and I can edit this. 🙂

555219_498354080203826_1149546936_n

Lemon Rice in the Pressure Cooker
Ingredients
*2 tbsp butter
*2 cups long grain rice
*1 14.5oz can of chicken broth
*1 cup water
*1/4 cup lemon juice (yep, just used the bottled stuff!)
*1 tsp salt
*Fresh parsley, chopped (optional)

Directions
1. Select sauté and add butter to the pressure cooker. When it’s melted, add the rice, stirring until it’s become opaque, about 2 minutes.
2. Add the broth, water, lemon juice, and salt. Cover and lock the lid in place, selecting high pressure, and set the timer for 4 minutes.
3. When the beep sounds, turn the pressure cooker off, wait 5 minutes, and then use the quick pressure release to release the pressure. Fluff the rice with a fork, and serve.
4. If you opted to use chopped fresh parsley, garnish the rice with it now.

This came from this blog and I don’t know the exact link to this one either, so same deal as the other recipe.

The two of these were so so so good together (and since this rice recipe made a lot, we’ll be having it again; no complaints!). The rice soaked up the juice from the chicken. Dear me, delicious. We also had Brussels sprouts tossed with browned butter (Kalen had corn), and it was just so dang tasty!!!

Since these were both so easy, they’ll be made again, most definitely. I love easy, I love cheap, and they were pretty healthy, so this was just a win all around. And yes, I think regular butter is healthy. Far better than margarine. Barf.

I complain about it a lot, but deep down I love to cook. I love trying new recipes. I do wish that those I cook for were up for more adventurous dishes BUT I’m adding more ingredients in that I like, even if they don’t. Like fennel. Or mushrooms to last night’s pizza casserole.

 

xoxo Amber

2 thoughts on “When life hands you lemons…COOK!

    • Lemons are one of my favorite things to use in recipes (although I had to use bottled juice today). The chicken was phenomenal!!! And easy. If you try it, let me know! The site where I got it from had a lot of yummy recipes too, that will be tried out in the next few weeks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

