2 Recipes, Zero Pictures, and a Slight Update

Things have been hectic in my neck of the woods thanks to school. Perhaps you noticed with the lack of posting and the Saturdays Stuff not happening. If not…well then, now you know. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I posted this to my LiveJournal account, and thought I’d share here. I’m more likely to post there because it’s more personal, but even that is being neglected with the craziness that is my life.

So I’ve made two new recipes recently AND because I’m awesome, and they were awesome, I thought I’d share. *preens*

Slow Cooker Creamy Spaghetti (we had this one last week Tuesday and it was ridiculously easy to make and delicious)(this says it serves 10-12, we got like….8 lol. so we’re fatties)

Ingredients:
1lb Italian sausage (take it out of the casings if you have links)
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground black pepper
1/2 tsp garlic salt
3 24oz jars pasta sauce (any flavor you want)
1lb spaghetti noodles (I used wheat, and it was fine)
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese (true story, the recipes says grated or powder….the same thing)
4oz cream cheese (we used regular because Karen didn’t buy the Neufchatel we normally get, and recipe calls for fat free, so anything will work)
1 14.5oz can of chicken broth

Directions:
Brown the sausage in a skillet, and season with the salt, pepper, and garlic salt when done. Spray crock pot with cooking spray and pour one jar of sauce on the bottom of a the pot. Break the spaghetti noodles in half and add on top of the sauce (try to spread them out, some of them did kind of clump together, but that was okay with us). Pour sausage over the meat, and then add the Parmesan cheese (sprinkle as evenly as possible here). Cut the cream cheese into bite-sized cubes and dot throughout the top, then pour the second jar of sauce over the top. Cover and cook on high for 3 hours (I did it for 2, so just keep an eye on it). After 3 hours (or 2 if you’re me), remove the lid and stir the contents, pour in the last jar of sauce and the chicken broth, replace the lid, and cook on low for another hour.

Bacon Cheeseburger Pasta (this is tonight’s dinner, and even though I’m waiting on Kalen to get home before I eat, I had to taste-test it and it was delicious)

Ingredients:
1lb of ground beef
1 cup beef broth
2 cups milk
8oz can of tomato sauce
2 cups of macaroni noodles
3/4 cup of sour cream
1.5 cups shredded cheddar (I used a block of sharp and shredded it myself, use whatever you have on hand)
1/2 cup chopped pickles (I used dill, you could use sweet if you wanted)
1/2lb bacon, cooked and diced
salt and pepper to taste

Cook the bacon until it’s crispy and set aside on a paper towel to drain the grease. Wipe out the pan and add the ground beef, cooking through. Add the milk, tomato sauce, and beef broth to the pan with the beef (I transferred it to a sauce pan instead of a frying pan, but you could do it in either) and bring to a boil. Once boiling, add the macaroni, cover, and reduce heat to low, cooking for 17-20 minutes (my rule of thumb is to check after 15 minutes). Once the noodles are tender, stir in the sour cream, bacon, cheese, and pickles, and then serve. I didn’t salt or pepper it, because I prefer to leave that up to whoever is eating it. It was easy, and delicious. I did most of the prep work while the bacon was cooking, and while the beef was cooking. Super duper easy. ๐Ÿ™‚

That’s all I have for ya. If you try them let me know.

Leave a Reply

