Chicken Cordon Bleu Pasta Bake

Let me apologize first for failing to snap a picture of this dish. I wanted too, but it smelled so good and I was so hungry, and well…it disappeared. Yes, it was that good!!!

So I’m here to share the recipe! This dish, made with the ingredients I had, was 410 calories per serving (about a cup or a bit more, I just sectioned off 8 servings so we could freeze half), and 13 Weight Watchers Points Plus. Both are a bit high, but it was worth the splurge.

So first, I’ll list the ingredients.

4 cups dry whole grain rotini pasta (this was for 8 servings, adjust accordingly)
6 slices of rectangular shaped ham (this was Kirkland brand from Costco, but use whatever you like. I personally dislike sweeter hams so this is what we always have on hand)
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (about 7-8 ounces)
salt & pepper
2 cups of skim milk
3 cups of shredded Swiss cheese
2 tbsp of butter
2 tbsp of flour (I just used white flour)
scant 1/2 cup of bread crumbs (I used Italian breadcrumbs from Progresso I believe)

Season the chicken with the salt and pepper, and cook on the stove in a pan until done. You could grill this, or cook it however you want. Or, leave it out.
While you’re cooking the chicken, go ahead and boil a pot of water. Once boiling, add your pasta and cook according to the package directions.
Melt the butter in the bottom of another pan, and once melted, add the flour, whisking to incorporate. Add the milk, and whisk constantly until it’s thickened.
By now the pasta should be done, so drain and return the pan. It’s okay to have some of the cooking water still there, it will help the ingredients to mix.
Add two cups of the shredded Swiss to the milk mixture, and stir until the cheese is melted. Now, add the cheese to the pan of pasta, cut up the chicken into little pieces and add that as well.
(I happened to have made the chicken ahead of time, and I let the pasta drain too log. I could have used some of the additional cooking water!)
Cut the ham into little pieces as well, then add to the pot. Now, toss in the breadcrumbs, and mix everything up. Once mixed, dump it out into a 9×13 pan (unless you’ve changed the amount you’ll be making, then choose a size to fit your needs) that has been sprayed with nonstick spray. Top with the remaining cup of Swiss cheese, and pop into the oven at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or more. You’ll want the cheese melted and lightly browned around the edges.

And seriously, so delicious. And customizable. I didn’t add any spices, which is weird for me, but you can easily add in whatever you like. I’d probably toss in oregano. Because I love oregano. I might also add garlic next time, just because. We’re garlic fiends in my house. 😉

Also, if you think Swiss cheese is too strong, substitute in Monterrey Jack cheese, or a mixture of the two. Let me know if you try this out!!

Linking up here:

Photobucket“/>
Leave a Reply

