Let’s Talk About Food: What I Ate Today

I mentioned I was doing the DietBet with Blogilates in my previous entry. I also mentioned that I’m thrilled.

I still am.

When I remember/have time (because I’ll be starting my summer class next week – barf!), I’m going to try to post what I’ve been eating. If you want me to include more pictures, calories, or Weight Watchers Points Plus, let me know and I’ll be happy to oblige. šŸ™‚

Breakfast/Lunch (because I slept until noon)

1 Healthy Life Light English Muffin, toasted and without butter
2 turkey sausage patties
2 eggs, cooked in 2 tsp of olive oil

I ate this open face, so it was like I was eating more than I was. And it wasn’t too bad in terms of calories or points (16PP and 413 calories on LoseIt and 420 calories on MyFitnessPal) since it was really two meals for me. If you’ve never cooked eggs in olive oil, do it. So yummy.

Dinner
Turkey Meatloaf
I modified a recipe found on SkinnyTaste and had printed off awhile ago, so I don’t have the actual link, but a quick search through her site should bring it up. I left out the onions and the olive oil because the dude doesn’t like onions.

1 pound of ground turkey
2 tsp of Worcestershire sauce
1 egg
1/2 cup of Italian breadcrumbs
1/4 cup of ketchup
1 tsp oregano
1 tsp onion powder
1 tsp garlic powder
(add whatever spices you like, and as much. Gina’s recipe called for marjoram, which I’m not a huge fan of)

Mix ingredients and then put into your meatloaf pan. Top with 2 tbsp of ketchup. Bake at 350 for 55-65 minutes (all ovens are different, so be sure to check accordingly). It’s 4 servings, each servings is 2 slices (or on really large slice).

So yummy and delicious, and I didn’t get a good picture. Naturally. Also, with THIS way it ends up being 190 calories (I rounded to 200 to be safe) and only 6PP.

I also made mashed potatoes per the request demand of my mother-in-law, and the last two jars of our home canned green beans with 2 tsp of butter and a tsp of garlic salt added to it. The butter added isn’t healthy, but we’re working with picky eaters here (one hates veggies and is picky about the ones he DOES like, such as French style beans rather than cut, and the canned beans are cut, and the other isn’t too into healthy eating as made obvious by her comment of “the more butter and salt, the better” in regards to the potatoes) so I have to compromise. Well, we’re all compromising.

Here is a plate of the yummy goodness. šŸ™‚

1370212821468

It was good though, and since today is inexplicably cold, it was nice to eat comfort food. There are certain things I can’t NOT eat. Eggs, my English muffins, and meat. I will happily eat a burger sans bun, but don’t ask me to give up my English muffin! haha.

What have you all been eating?

Leave a Reply

