The Internet: Where Your Opinion is NOT Welcomed on Your Own Page

You know, I’m all for people having different opinions from me. Let’s face it, the world would be b-o-r-i-n-g if we all felt the same and thought the same.

I’ll start right now and state that I’m pro-life. If this means I lose followers, then so be it. I’m tolerant of other views, and it would be nice if everyone could be that way.

Now that I’ve said that, I share things on Facebook. Perhaps too often. I also do NOT research what I share. I’m far from influential, and I don’t see the need. Nor will I ever. If someone sees it, questions it, and wants to know more, they can look that up on their own. So, I saw a picture regarding abortion. It was an older lady wearing a shirt that said “I had an abortion” that was apparently part of an ad campaign for Planned Parenthood. I have nothing against PP. They’ve screwed me over on a visit (pap smear) and they were rude and unorganized. This is the one near me, others are different. The reason I posted was NOT to bash PP, which I stated in the comments when someone felt I was doing that. The picture had been edited to say something about how you wouldn’t want to be inconvenienced for the next 18 years.

THAT was the reason I shared the photo. Because that is how people feel sometimes. Naturally people were freaking that I didn’t do research, that my views on abortion are pro-life, that the original poster was a religious page, etc. If you are pro-choice, cool. That is you. Do I agree with that? No, I do not. But I’m not going to waste my time arguing about it, because there are better things for me to do. Then, because this comment thread had gotten quite large, people started arguing with each other about their thoughts on the picture and abortion.

Honestly, I’d have just deleted the picture because the notifications were annoying, but then I felt like that would be me saying “HEY GUYS YOU WIN!!!” or something. I was already called juvenile for pointing out to my sister’s friend (someone I’ve known for YEARS and have considered a brother) because I said that the fantastic thing about Facebook is that I can post these things, and if someone doesn’t agree they can either hide my posts or delete me. If you are taking offense with what I post, why not do one of those? Saying to do that isn’t juvenile, it’s more like common sense that they are missing.

If there is someone on my friends list who posts what I don’t agree with, I either do not comment, or I hide/delete them. I will never understand why someone will feel the need to start a fight over FACEBOOK. You’re not winning anything, and it sort of makes you look ridiculous.

I feel like I’ve ranted enough about that haha. Here is the picture in question:

Image

So, anyway, onto new things!

My classes start Sunday (well, they’re posted Sunday, and I’m taking an online course (Sociology) that I have the syllabus for so I have the chance to work ahead) and I have to attend class on Tuesdays and Thursdays again for this semester.

I’m pretty excited to be starting back this semester. I enjoyed my break, but I miss my learning.

xoxo Amber

2 thoughts on “The Internet: Where Your Opinion is NOT Welcomed on Your Own Page

  1. I’ve never understood the whole starting-fights-on-the-internet thing, either!! I’m like you – I either appreciate a differing viewpoint for what it is and move along without saying anything, or I hide them.

    On the radio the other day, the DJs were talking about something George Takei shared via his Facebook page. He had asked what people thought would be the weirdest thing to explain to someone from the 1950s about our current modern society and technology. Someone replied with something about how they have a phone that they can carry with them, it gives them access to all sorts of amazing things, etc…….and they use it to look at pictures of cats and start fights with strangers.
    Perspective is a funny thing 🙂

Leave a Reply

